The following group of scientists currently acts as Steering Committee for MedECC. All members are present in personal capacity – they do not represent any institution or country. The Committee will be further extended to ensure better thematic and geographic coverage of Mediterranean environmental science. W. Cramer, F. Driouech and J. Guiot and currently act as coordinators of MedECC.

MedECC Steering Committee members

    Magda Bou Dagher Kharrat (Saint Joseph University, Beirut, Lebanon)

    Ghani Chehbouni (IRD, Rabat, Morocco)

    Wolfgang Cramer (CNRS, IMBE, Aix-en-Provence, France)

    Fatima Driouech (University Mohammed VI Polytechnic, Morocco)

    Ines Duarte (Union for the Mediterranean, Barcelona, Spain)

    Marianela Fader (International Centre for Water Resources and Global Change (UNESCO), Federal Institute of Hydrology, Koblenz, Germany)

    Carlo Giupponi (Ca’ Foscari University and Venice International University, Italy)

    François Guerquin (Plan Bleu, Marseille, France)

    Joël Guiot (CNRS, CEREGE, Aix-en-Provence, France)

    Manfred Lange (The Cyprus Institute, Nicosia, Cyprus)

    Julien Le Tellier (UNEP/MAP-Barcelona Convention Secretariat, Athens, Greece)

    Piero Lionello (University of Salento, Lecce, Italy)

    Maria Carmen Llasat (University of Barcelona, Spain)

    Cyril Moulin (National Institute for Earth Sciences and Astronomy (INSU), CNRS, MISTRALS, Paris, France)

    Shlomit Paz (University of Haifa, Israel)

    Arnau Queralt Bassa (Advisory Council for the Sustainable Development of Catalonia (CADS), Barcelona, Spain)

    Ethemcan Turhan (University of Groningen, the Netherlands)

Past MedECC Steering Committee members

    Arnault Graves (Union for the Mediterranean, Barcelona, Spain)

    Samir Grimes (National High School of Marine Sciences and Coastal Management, Algiers, Algeria)- until December 2020

    Elen Lemaître-Curri (Plan Bleu, Marseille, France)- until July 2020

    Maria Snoussi (Mohammed V University, Rabat, Morocco)- until June 2021

    Andrea Toreti (European Commission-Joint Research Centre, Ispra, Italy)- until July 2021

    Elena Xoplaki (University of Gießen, Germany)- until July 2021